|divorce papers texas law help||1.76||0.6||867||49|
Texas requires a minimum 60 day waiting period before any divorce can be finalized. The 60 day period begins to run from the time the Original Petition for Divorce is actually filed with the court. In other words, the shortest time it will take to finalize a divorced in Texas is 61 days.Do you have to serve divorce papers in Texas?
If your divorce is amicable, you can avoid service altogether. Ask the court clerk for a "waiver of citation" form when you file your petition. Texas law allows your spouse to sign this form and have it notarized, waiving his right to be officially served with your petition.What is the process of divorce in Texas?
The 6 Step Texas Divorce Process: The first step in getting a divorce in Texas is to file the Petition for Divorce. This form will tell the judge and your spouse that you want a divorce. Make 2 copies of a fully filled out and completed "Original Petition for Divorce.".